Tags

, ,

On a day like today,
We pass the time of day
Writing love letters in the sand

Oh I wish, but it certainly wasn’t beach weather first thing yesterday morning.  The view from the bedroom window was a bit on the grey side bordering on black.

Instead of the beach I had a ‘date’ with a friend for coffee at the Chocolate Shop in Montrose.  Arranged about a month ago we thought it would be dry enough to enjoy some of the new outdoor seating – no such luck!  In fact there was no such luck with the coffee either because she didn’t arrive.  Car trouble!

After she called I decided not to order but came home to enjoy some of the lovely soup I cooked up the other day.  My version – so easy to cook!

  • Butternut Pumpkin
  • Onion, Carrots and Potatoes – sometimes sweet potato
  • Potato Stock from the freezer – kept from when boiled for mash
  • Vegetable stock powder
  • Nutmeg

Peel and cut veg, soften onion in a little oil, add veg and toss around over the heat.  Add veg stock and nutmeg.  Bring to boil – cook till soft.  Puree until lovely and thick with no lumps.

Being Wednesday The Golfer was ‘you know where’ so when it warmed up a fraction and there was a break in the clouds I cleared the outside table (thank goodness for covered decks) laid it with a fancy supper cloth and had me a little lunch date of my own.
Piping hot pumpkin soup with dry crackers 😊

Followed by some oatmeal crackers (butter and jam) along with one of those lovely finger type almond cakes from a Dutch Shop in a nearby suburb.

And coffee!

Don’t worry – I made sure The Golfer had his when he got home

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

‘On a day like today’ better known as Love letters in the Sand – sung by Pat Boone was a song I loved back in the 1950s.  What I didn’t know was that it was originally published in the 1931.  I know Patsy Cline (and others) recorded versions but Pat Boone’s was THE one as far as I was concerned.

Pat Boone (1934 – )

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Love_Letters_in_the_Sand

