Tags

, ,

Colour me green, she said.  Why did she say that?  It’s a secret she said!

Mind you these two below were really green when this B/W was taken in July 1960.  I had just met The Golfer – he was 21 and I was 17

We were young, naive and very innocent.

He must have made a good impression because Dad said ok to his request and we’re still going out on dates years later. 😊

The one below was when we went to a Neil Diamond concert at the Rod Laver arena in 2015.

Don’t think I’ll trade him in now – he brings me a cuppa in bed most mornings and I don’t think I could get the gold ring off my finger – it’s been there for 56 years now and feels very very comfortable  ❤️ ❤️

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Some of my lady friends were talking about us ‘love birds’ the other day and I said it hadn’t been all ‘love and kisses’, we’d had our differences over the years.  All that feisty Irish blood in my veins made me hard to live with at times but we’d worked out our differences – well it was more like me realising neither of us was perfect and I wasn’t right all the time 😊

This little group is made up of ladies of various ages and one of the older ones says  the funniest things at times; things she’s seen or heard on the tv, her computer or heard grandchildren say.  There was a lull in the conversation and she suddenly said – ‘Well you could colour me green, green with envy’

Asked what that was about she just laughed and said ‘it’s a secret’.

Then she (a widow of many years) let slip – ‘you’ve got someone to cuddle and I don’t’.  It seems that out of the 365 days of the year, the day we’d chosen to get together had been her wedding anniversary and she suddenly felt lonely!

(She did assure me The Golfer is safe – not sure what she meant by that 😊😊)

Linking to Mel’s MicroBlog Monday

http://www.stirrup-queens.com/2017/07/microblogmondays-152-you-have-what-it-takes/

