Tags

, ,

I’m not sure where I’m going with this post so it might come out a bit higgledy piggledy with confused thoughts going this way and that.

In one of the books I started to read last week (Missing Presumed, Susie Steiner, published in 2016) the main character aged 39 is described as ‘on the cusp of her forties’

When you first meet her this is how she’s thinking about herself

“She can feel herself gliding into that invisible phase of womanhood, alongside those pushing prams or pulling shopping wheelies.  She is drawn to the wider fittings in Clarks, has begun to have knee trouble and is disturbed to find that clipping her toenails leaves her vaguely out of breath.  She wonders what other indignities ageing will throw at her.”

I got a bit riled up when I read that (and I was only on page 6!)  She’s supposed to be a well educated woman holding down a good job in the police force yet the author is painting a picture of a – well I don’t know what. A self doubting troubled person afraid of what she thinks are signs of ageing.  I mean to say – wide feet, wonky knees and big bellies are not signs of growing older – they are found in a great number of the population. Young and Old!

Why does anyone do this – make assumptions that growing older will make us invisible to the rest of the population as well as bring with it a whole lot of troubles and woes or as in this particular author’s words ‘indignities’ ,

I’m just wondering how other readers feel – am I the only one bothered by this negative attitude to the changes that may happen, is it only older generations who object to this way of thinking, do others object to being portrayed in this way, do younger ones actually think that growing old/er will be a terrible thing to do?

I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on this issue.

Linking to Mel’s weekly MicroBlog Monday

