Tags

, ,

image

 A while ago I would occasionally take part in WWW Wednesday when it was hosted by MizB, now Sam looks after it over at Taking on a World of Words. Recently some bloggers asked about books I’d read so I thought this might be a good time to take part again 🙂

Anyone can do it – take part that is – just answer these 3 questions
What are you currently reading ?
What did you recently finish reading ?
What do you think you’ll read next ?

My current read is – The Sunnyvale Girls By Fiona Palmer

Have just started and don’t think it will take me long to read, this is what these days is called ‘rural lit or chook lit‘ set in Western Australia.

Three generations of Stewart women share a deep connection to their family farm, but a secret from the past threatens to tear them apart.

Widowed matriarch Maggie remembers a time when the Italian prisoners of war came to work on their land, changing her heart and her home forever. Single mum Toni has been tied to the place for as long as she can recall, although farming was never her dream. And Flick is as passionate about the farm as a young girl could be, despite the limited opportunities for love.

image

I recently finished – In cold Daylight by Pauline Rowson

Fire fighter Jack Bartholomew dies whilst trying to put out a fire in a derelict building. Was it an accident or arson? Marine Artist Adam Greene doesn’t know, only that he has lost his closest friend.

But Adam knows there is no turning back; he has to get to the truth no matter what the cost, even if it means his life.

Mmm – that’s just what the tale is about – how Adam Greene goes about finding the true facts concerning his friends death.  A very quick and easy to read book – not very long chapters – the book actually looks longer than it is.  But, oh there were so many twists and turns even I was beginning to lose my patience.  It was an interesting way to pass a couple of cold days – having lived several years of my life in Portsmouth I recognised landmarks he mentioned – would I recommend it?  Maybe, if there’s nothing else to read on your book shelf.

image

My next read will be – I’m not really sure

Still continuing with my Aussie Authors quest I have The Lace Balcony by Johanna Nicholls sitting here – it’s on loan from a friend (as were the two above)is a fairly lengthy early Australian historical novel (over 500 pages/50 chapters) and with a ‘no hurry, just return whenever’ directive I think I might leave it until the long hot summer days arrive 🙂

Vianna Francis, known in the colony as ‘The Sydney Venus’, is a notorious young mistress in keeping to a former gentleman convict, who uses her to entice wealthy men to his gaming tables.
image

And then these here are on order at the library and may come in soon

What Alice Forgot – Liane Moriarty
The Lake House – Kate Morton
The Lieutenant – Kate Grenville

So it could be one of them

Now that I’ve stopped talking🙂
Maybe you’d like to tell me what ‘you’ have read or are reading at the moment
Or pop over to Sam’s and see what others are reading

