Tags

,

A dear friend of mine made a comment about feeling old because she had checked her calendar to see when her next visit to the podiatrist was. ‘Only old people do that’ she said.   I laughed because I had the same thing on my mind – not the getting old part – but the visiting the podiatrist bit.

Not long ago I wrote a post about life’s little pleasures https://cranethie.wordpress.com/2013/08/06/one-of-lifes-little-pleasures/ – as well as having a bath I must confess, strange as it may seem, visiting the podiatrist is also one of my favourite pleasures. Oh no, I hear you say – not another post on feet lol

I don’t always wear shoes at home, I go barefoot most of the time (or wear thongs/flip flops) until winter when it’s socks and knitted slippers. Of course this means I do untold damage to the soles of my feet. I’ve never had ‘nice’ feet and a few years ago I began to get corns …. ok, I know, TMI….changing shoes (which I ‘do’ wear outside the house) didn’t seem to help so thats when my visits to the Podiatrist (or Chiropodist as they used to be called) began. Now I have regular appointments and actually look forward to them 🙂

We begin with a little chat and the initial examination of my feet, then out comes the cleaning swabs as well as all the tools of the trade and we are away and running (obviously not literally – yet).  Toenails are trimmed because like lots of oldies I find it hard to reach down there; little toes don’t bend these days or come apart far enough for me to manouver the clippers and my toe nails are becoming so thick I can’t even clip the ones I can get to!  The corns are ‘out’ and the site is under control now so I don’t have to have endure any ‘poking prodding and trimming’ thank goodness, which means it’s then time to attack the dead skin on the heels and balls of my feet.

That’s when the little electric sanding tool appears – well that’s what it reminds me of – my foot man Bill starts it up after most of that skin has been shredded off with a teeny tiny scalpel and gently smoothes out all the rough edges.  After creaming heels soles and toenails they all feel as smooth as a babies bum.

Then it’s massage time – ooh that feels good – and once he’s finished I leave with a smile on my face because there’s nothing like walking from his rooms with nicely creamed soft feet.  Amost like walking on air.  Gosh, thinking about is putting a smile on my face – wonder when my next visit is??

Come on – confess – tell us what your life’s little pleasures are.
Please 🙂

Linked to MicroBlog Monday
6 Paragraphs – not 6 Sentences
Maybe I’ll be a bit less wordy next week 🙂

