Tags

, ,

Thinking about my last post, https://cranethie.wordpress.com/2015/05/14/cant-seem-to-get-it-right/ has me reflecting on the fact that one thing in my life that has always been a constant is that I always seem to have cold feet.  No matter where I am or what I’m doing 90% of the time Catherine’s feet will feel cold.

Why, I used to ask when all my immediate family had ‘warm blooded’ feet were mine cold and what could I do to warm them up? I also used to blame it on my Dad’s side of the family because they all suffered from heart disease and associated circulatory problems but my GP seemed to think my circulation was fine so I then began to wonder what else could I blame.

A few years ago when my thyroid gland packed up I thought great, that can make you feel the cold. It had made me suffer all sorts of other symptoms so as well as the weight gain, the bloating, the grotty hair, the general aches and pains, the memory loss and miserable feelings maybe I could blame that on it as well – only thing is now I’m on medication and the levels are ok the feet are still cold lol

I’ve tried all sorts of things; I can assure you that seriously toasting feet in front of an open fire or a heating duct just results in a red face and scorched soles and those horrors called chilblains. Likewise soaking in a bowl of hot water does warm them but also leaves them wet and soggy and cold again within a short while. 😦

I read that there were creams that will make your feet warm, slippers you can put in the microwave, herbs that will assist with circulation but so far from all the suggestions I’ve been given wearing woollen socks seems to be the only one that gives relief – not a good look on a hot 30c/85f summer’s day or night though!

However there is one remedy I had recommended recently that I have yet to try.  It would appear that if you wear a hat your feet stay warm 🙂

Now wouldn’t that would be a lovely sight
Yes, many years back people did wear a hat to bed
(Wee Willie Winkie comes to mind)

wee willy images

In wintertime there is always a hot water bottle and extra blanket at the foot of the bed and occasionally bed socks ready to put on but I’m sure if I turned in one evening with a beanie on my head The Golfer would laugh his cotton socks off (that is if he still had them on!)

But there again maybe not ‘cose if it cured the bane of his life – me getting into bed with cold feet – I’m sure he would be pleased. He might even give it go himself ‘cose recently I’ve noticed him sitting with his feet tucked up in a blanket during the evening and then stretching them over to my side of the bed once I’ve got warm and comfortable.  Guess what – they were freezing – yes, looks like he’s starting to suffer from cold feet as well 🙂

As far as I’m aware cold feet are mine and nobody else’s in the family
How about you – what little thing sets you apart from your family?

May be a little on the long side but once again
I’m Linking to MicroBlog Monday

for details see HERE

