Tags

, , , ,

A review of the contents of the veg drawer in the fridge showed half a butternut pumpkin and some green beans that wouldn’t pass the cut on a dinner plate so it was do (in another form) or die day for them.

After a bit of rummaging in the spice and pulses dept I discovered all the ingredients for a meatless meal were actually in house.  No running up the street to the supermarket at the last minute – what you’ve never done that before:)

Does this image from the book looks a bit out of focus to you?  That or I need my eyes tested again.  The full recipe is scanned and then I took a snap but that one only looks slightly better – apart from the publication not having a good photo I’m wondering if our scanner screen needs cleaning??

Pumpkin Potato Lentil Hotpot

Pumpkin Potato Lentil Hotpot

 

No better!

No better!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Voila – my version

My Hotpot!

My Hotpot!

When (for once) I actually used all the tabled ingredients (weighed and measured properly as well) I’m at a loss as to why my hotpot has a ‘redder’ look than the one in the book.  Maybe the tomatoes in my tin were riper than hers lol

I possibly could have chopped the veg a bit smaller – it had a rustic look on the plate; with some crusty rolls on the side to mop up the sauce, the taste was ‘Not Bad, Not Bad at all’ The Golfer said when he put his spoon and fork down and laid hsi hands on his rather full belly:)

I think this one might be a keeper! 
Have you had any surprises in the kitchen recently?

