Tags

, ,

Alphabet Blogging is using the letter I this week

So I thought ‘What about Ironing’??

Ironing is the use of a heated tool (an iron) to remove wrinkles from fabric
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ironing)
A Laundry Maid Ironing circa 1765-82 by Henry Robert Morland 1716-1797

A Laundry Maid Ironing
Henry Morland 1716-1797

Now I have to say – Ironing and me don’t go together
I don’t like Ironing at all – no, not one little bit

I hang clothes on the line in a very precise way
then when they are dry all I do is
either fold them neatly to go in a drawer or hang them in the wardrobe

The Golfer was in the forces when we met and was used to ironing his shirts
When we married and I jokingly said
‘I don’t do cooked breakfasts or iron shirts’
he didn’t appear to be upset in any way
About the shirts that is lol

For most of his working life he wore business type shirts
and they had to be done ‘just so’
so as far as I was concerned
the best person to do them was him himself 🙂

Consequently The Golfer has always ironed his own shirts.
220px-Ironing_a_shirt Now it’s confession time
I used to ‘take in’ Ironing
Yes I would willingly do it for other people.

When the children we small we needed extra cash
and I needed to be at home with them
I did what I had to
Even if it was something I didn’t particularly like.

Not something you readily admitted to in those days.

After a while I quite enjoyed doing it
There was a sense of satisfaction seeing all the garments
folded neatly in baskets waiting to be picked up

Didn’t do it when the chldren were running around
‘Safety and sticky fingers to think about’
Clients would drop off one day and pick up the next
so it was usually done during ‘sleep time’ or in the evenings watching tv

I gave it up when they were older and we had more cash
It was hard enough then keeping up with ours
let alone taking in more lol

These days the iron only comes out if necessary
not as a matter of course.
Modern materials and appliances make life a lot easier
There are steamers and ‘ooh la la’ irons with bells and whistles attached
that enable you to breeze through the job so so quickly

However I’m still the first to admit
I don’t like Ironing – no not one little bit

What about you??

Ironing

Alphabet Blogging is hosted by Mum
Pop over to see what others have found for the letter I

