Tags

,

Funny what you think about while walking along the street

A few years my doctor said I was overweight, I remember that visit quite clearly and for some reason when I was out walking the other day it popped back into my mind.

I had wondered how people actually saw me at that time – was I chubby, plump or did I actually look fat?   I know at the time I certainly didn’t want to look like those descriptions and was most put out when he actually said that with a height of 157cms/ 5ft 2ins weighing 74kgs/163lbs (11 stone 9lbs) was not a good look.

His reasons for concern were raised BP and the hip pain I had complained about.  At that time it was my hip that bothered me more than my back.  With the loss of some of the kilos the hip pain vanished which is a good thing as at one time I couldn’t walk up any stairs and much to my annoyance had to use lifts or escalators to get around large shopping centres, multi-story buildings and car parks.

Of course when the back played up a couple of years ago and exercise was the last thing on my mind one or two kilos went back on again but we are working on that.

I went on to think about ‘What DO I want to look like’ and ‘How would I like others to see me’.  I knew I didn’t want to be ‘skinny’ or ‘thin’ as that is not a good look especially on an older person.

Though I have to admit, I don’t actually admit to being 71 very often, I have no idea what a 71yr old is supposed to feel or do so I just live my life the same as before ‘cept that at the moment there is a bit more emphasis on food and exercise.

Anyway back to body shape, my body shape.

I think I would like to look trim (sort of slim with shape) but trim seems to imply toned and thats what I’d like to be.

Having a shaped body would be great – someone once described my shape as like an H – same at the top and bottom with not much of a waist so dresses with belts are out lol.

Yes, having a shaped body would be great and if there are no fatty bits flopping around it would be even better 🙂

Maybe toned would be a good thing, and I can achieve that by continuing with visits to the gym using free weights and the equipment as well as walking for the fun of it.

Half hour exercise a day and all that lol

My one recurring thought is will I be satisfied when I am back down to the suggested goal weight or will I be greedy and want more?   Knowing how hard it has been to get this far how will I manage to achieve that – will it be feasable or will my mind say ‘Forget it?’

Time will tell I suppose – we’ll cross that path when we get there 🙂

