Tags

, , ,

Still talking about libraries – remember me mentioning  the large electronic book return system that was installed in the big library?

Well I thought you’d like to see what progress actually looks like lol

This is what now confronts you when entering the lobby
What you do is place the book in the opening where the beam reads the bar code
The screen tells you the book has been recorded as returned.
1

Looking through the window into the library proper you can see the other end of the book return along with the bins waiting for their ‘droppings’
Well thats how I heard one old lady describe it the day I took these snaps lol

2

I also began to wonder if I was at the racetrack because standing beside me was a mother entertaining her children – they were watching the books move along the conveyor belt before they actually went into the library and this is what I heard.
“And there’s what looks like a paperback making its way along to the end – wonder what the lucky number was and where its heading off to”

3

And here is the view from inside the libary

4

Bit stark isn’t it
It must be good for the staff to have the space they need to sort but it seems very impersonal.  There are librarians about the place but with staff cutbacks they are becoming fewer and fewer
Shame isn’t it 😦

Information on
Croydon Library

Heres a link to photos taken during the recent renovations and refurbishment
http://www.flickr.com/photos/25305875@N06/

Our world Tuesday can be found here

Our World

