Tags

, , , , , , ,

I find it hard to believe we are now into the second month of the second half of the year.  For us here in Australia August is the last month of winter – spring starts officially on the first day of September.  Early winter this year was unbelievably cold and July has been reported as being the warmest on record – to me it seemed cold so I’m not sure where I was on those days. To be fair we did have a few pleasant dry sunny days in the high teens (celcius) so maybe they contributed to the record!
http://www.news.com.au/breaking-news/eastern-australia-experiences-warmest-july-on-record/story-e6frfkp9-1226688944495
Some very low overnights coming up this week so the hotties will certainly be coming out at bedtime! 

 
We have a small wattle tree at the bottom of our garden visible from the kitchen window and when it blooms in the winter I feel ‘comfortable’ – doesn’t matter what’s it like – on a dull day or a bright sunny day – seeing those fluffy yellow balls there gives me a warm and fuzzy feeling.  

From the deck - Dull day
From the deck – Dull day

In fact when I see any wattle bloom I usually smile – don’t ask me why  – I just do :). 

From the deck - sunny day

From the deck – sunny day

When I see winter bulbs flowering and realise the seasons are changing – it also follows that seeing the yellow wattles in winter means the season will change.
Might take a while but it will happen.  

 Little rounds of sunshine

Little rounds of sunshine

So what does one do when all that sunshine in a different form is available for the taking – Well I usually bring some into the house along with azalea and camelias that might be out- just to give me the opportunity to smile on what could be a cold winter’s day 🙂

45 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3

Did you know that of the 1300 species of Acacia 960 are native to Australia – we call them Wattle here in Australia.  They are found in all states and about a third flower in winter

Golden wattle (Acacia pycnantha), is the floral emblem of Australia
And September 1 is Wattle Day

http://www.itsanhonour.gov.au/publications/symbols/factsheets/national_floral_emblem.pdf
http://www.abc.net.au/science/articles/2003/07/03/2578547.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acacia

Flowers from around the world can be found here

Todays Flowers Denise 

 

