Tags

, , ,

My mother was a funny one – at times so tight with her money and yet so free at others.  She had a thing about buying things ‘just in case’  – according to her she didn’t stockpile (a dirty word during and just after the war)…….. she would have things on hand – ‘just in case’. 

Not quite as bad or in the same vein as my Irish granny (her mother in law) who I’m sure had saved enough string to go round the world (just in case anyone needed it ) as well as oodles of other ‘useful’ bits and pieces that really weren’t needed at all but she had lived through two wars and a depression so I suppose could be forgiven (except by my aunties when it came to clearing the house out after she died!)

We all try to be a little thrifty at times so when things come on special I’ll pick up extra bits that I know we will use – not actually stockpiling, because to do that properly you have to check dates and rotate oldest to the front and all that and that’s almost like work – these extra bits are for ‘just in case’.

Now do you remember when the only way you get toilet rolls was in double packs?  Then came fours and now anything is possible.  Well on occasion I have picked up a couple of extra packs of the really soft brand we use and left them in the garage – it’s because they come in 20s these days the packs are so large they need to be stored in an old cupboard. 

I popped out there today to bring another pack into the house and …… well it would seem I’ve picked up quite a few extra packs of loo paper over time –  how long do you think it will take us to use 180 rolls of toilet paper??

Buying in bulk – ‘just in case’ – good idea or not 🙂

Little bit IMG_7007of trivia – this is printed on the inside of the cardboard roll –
Quilton loves your bum lol

IMG_7008

