Tags

,

It was the summer of 1954 – there was a new kid on the block.  Mum and Dad got the son they had waited many years for – us girls got a baby brother.

He arrived the day my little sister Patsy turned 4 – having to share your birthday with someone else can be a bit of problem for some people – I’m not sure how she felt about it then – but I’ve never heard Patsy make mention of it and how she may have been affected over the years.

And just by chance, I recently discovered our Gt Gt Gt Grandfather was also born on July 1st – mind you his birthday was in 1807, 147 years earlier 🙂

It wasn’t until later in life I found out that I shared the same birthdate as my grandfather – wish I’d known earlier – I would have loved to have felt more connected to him.  He lived across the water from us in Belfast and we only saw him on very rare occasions.

So this is Us at the Pool July 1954

Move forward many years – this is Us in the Pub Summer 2000.
Slight difference eh??
Notice we are in the same order – Bobby the neat and tidy one, me the oldest one, Patsy the curly haired one and Jeff who turned out to be the biggest and tallest one of us all !

Now its difficult for us all to be together under the same roof at the same time – what with one in Australia and another in Cyprus.  Two still live close to each other and do get together at the pub to celebrate their birthdays but not on the same day tho’ lol

