Tags

(This is a rewrite of an entry from 2011)
 
May 24th was my Mum’s birthday
She reached the grand age of 80
The way of the world during those 80 years
meant that some were good and others were bad
She made do, had fun and enjoyed her life as best she could
 
Unfortunately she had to leave this land a few years ago
When she left us she met up with Dad
and they now have a little spot together on a grassy hill
where they can watch the world go by
 
(the headstone is not on an angle – I was standing on a slope)
 
 
 Headstone Mum Dad
The photo below is from one I took a few years ago just after Dad had died
I went back to England for a while to check on Mum and
she took me round to see where he was buried.
 
Church Graveyard
 It was in a small village close by to where they lived
Such a beautiful graveyard with the church up above it
Thats the grassy hill where they both lie
 
Only thing is my sister tells me its now full
theres not one inch of space left
It was such a popular place people were ‘dying to get in there’
 
We never made a big thing about birthdays in our house
but Mum and Dad would sometimes celebrate at a local pub
Quite frequently lol
 Mum Dad Happy Pub
And see that white building with the old fashioned black framework
Right across the road from the graveyard
Well thats the local pub lol
 
Church graveyard and Pub
Mum and I didn’t always see eye to eye
There was many a fight whilst I was growing up
Funny but when her grandchildren and great grandchildren came along
she sort of mellowed
No sign of the person I knew her to be
 
Anyway putting all those past differences behind me
I’ll raise a glass in her memory this evening
Sad she couldn’t be down at the pub to enjoy her 91st birthday
She loved a drink, did our Alice lol
 
 
