Tags

, , ,

Dance Dance
Wherever you may be

And these school children certainly did that the day we watched their performance in Esparza near Puntarenas Costa Rica
They were so proud to show off their traditional costumes
as well as the dances they had learnt.

The three little ones in the front row were a laugh
There seemed to be a bit of rivalry between them before the performance and then once the music began it was all forgotten and we just saw their love of the dance.  As you can see this love was shared with the older girls and boys
All the photos will enlarge with a click

The town square was decorated
There was one very large Christmas Tree
Tourists everywhere vying for a ‘good shot’
None of which put these youngsters off in the slightest
Dancing in the Town Square
Nativity on the roofOne very large Christmas Tree

I danced in the morning when the world was young
I danced in the moon and the stars and the sun
I came down from heaven and I danced on the earth
At Bethlehem I had my birth

Dance, dance, wherever you may be
I am the lord of the dance, said he
And I lead you all, wherever you may be
And I lead you all in the dance, said he

Words above taken from
Lord of the Dance
A song/hymn written in 1963 by
Sydney Carter
1915 – 2004
A favourite of mine and my mother’s
Both of whom love/loved to dance 🙂

Listen here and enjoy the music and lyrics
First version with piano accompaniment
Sharp and chrystal clear

Then a couple of Irish versions
First by the now defunct Barley Bree
Barley Bree

Another version with The Dubliners
The Dubliners

 Dance and the World Dances with you!
True or False??
What do you think?

