Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Earlier this year I heard of a group based here in Melbourne  that wanted warm hand knitted scarves and beanies for homeless so before we went away I did manage to knit and donate some fingerless mittens but got side tracked with other events and thats as far as it went.

But listen to this, when I looked on their website I discovered they also were looking for babies and children’s knitted garments as well.  Reading that solved my problem of what to do whilst we were away – KNIT – not the big sweater I had in mind (which most likely will never get done) but small items that would be easy to pick up and put down, especially in the car.  Of course thats when I popped out into the garage to review that huge stash of ‘you know what’

So would you like to see what I achieved in that time – I left some of the making up (neckbands and buttons mainly) till we got home and now they are all finished ready to be passed on.

TaDa
13 pairs of fingerless mittens (various sizes) and
14 baby jackets ( birth to 12 months)

 

Knit one Give one – aka KOGO (an offshoot of the Knit One Save One squares for blankets group associated with Save the Chidren) are willing to accept knitted garments for adults children and babies.  There are drop off points (mainly pharmacies) in many places all over Victoria so the knitters don’t have to pay postage to get their gifts to the organisers.

My effort of mittens is too late for this winter’s drive which has just finished but I’m sure will be a welcome start for the Winter 2013.  Hopefully the baby jackets will be distributed soon – one never knows what the weather in spring is like in Victoria – yesterday it was beautifully warm, today it is pouring and rather chilly and tomorrow, well who knows, at the moment the forecast is 13c/56f with showers.

