Tags

,

There’s is a spot in Ringwood between two shopping areas where you can often see buskers.  Its under cover which is good but I imagine a bit draughty at times which is bad.  Whenever I’ve walked that way there has always been a lot of passing ‘trade’ but I’m sure there must be quiet times as well.

Anyway the other week as I came out of the large shopping centre and started to cross the road I heard it – the unmistakeable sound of a saxophone.  Often you’d hear someone singing or playing instruments but this wasn’t the sort of sound you’d normally hear and I had to stop to see where it was coming from. Also most of the buskers sit further down the walk way closer to where I crossed so I was surprised when I saw the man sitting at the top.  I really needed to go into a nearby shop and yet I didn’t want to move on lol

Of course I couldn’t get out of the shop fast enough as I wanted to listen for a while longer.  Now I suppose I’m guilty of this as well but standing on the other side of the railings I noticed nobody seemed to listen to his music.  There were a few who dropped a coin into his bag but nearly everyone else was so intent with getting on with their business they just walked by.

Yet the man in the hat didn’t seem to care at all.  He just sat there on his own playing beautiful music and watching the world go by.

Buskers have to have a permit and there are conditions to be met so I’ve never been able to fathom out if they do it for the money they hope to make or for the love of performing.  http://www.maroondah.vic.gov.au/Busking.aspx

Did you know the term “busking” was first noted in the English language around the middle 1860s in Great Britain. Up until the 20th century buskers were commonly called minstrels in America, Europe and other English-speaking lands
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Street_performance

Have any of you been game enough to perform on the street?

