Yesterday has been and gone
Now we sing a different song

Today Sydney NSW is awash with young girls
All with the one idea in mind – to catch a glimpse of a certain Boy Band and to sing all the group’s songs they have committed to memory

That Boy Band would be the one that is intent on breaking the heart of just about every young girl in Australia (and other countries as well)
Yes that Boy Band.
One Direction or 1D as I’ve seen on some posters

They (The Band) arrived yesterday and had TV appearances this morning
Watching from the comfort of my lounge room it was obvious Martin Place was full of screaming girls who would have no voice left by the time they arrived home.
Its about 900kms/ 550 miles from Sydney to Melbourne and I reckon I could hear them all the way down here lol

Mind you, I do remember one of my girls being potty over Bay City Rollers – the boys seemed to favour bands that produced louder more invasive music.

Me, well I preferred all sorts of music – still do
Yes, I knew all the pop songs but never went gaga over the singers
We didn’t have a ‘record player’ so whatever music I came in contact with
was heard on the radio or ‘seen’ on the TV
and I suppose I was sort of old fashioned and definitely not like lot of my friends at school who were ‘in love’ with Elvis and only Elvis

 Loved the sound of big bands and also jazz (Trad and Modern),
Singers like Tony Bennett, Perry Como, Frankie Laine and Nat ‘King’ Cole
as well as Peggy Lee and Ella Fitzgerald
Tenors like Mario Lanza and Josef Locke were my father’s favourites and I have to admit to enjoying them as well

Yet there was ‘one’ singer who did seem special to me at the time
Lonnie Donegan featured on my bedroom wall for a few years
There was something about him I really enjoyed.

 Lonnie Donegan Fan Website

Tom Dooley
Gambling Man
Grand Coulee Dam

Lonnie Donegan and Ottilie Patterson
Lonnie Donegan and Van Morrison
Lonnie Donegan and and Chris Barber

The two lines of the song up at the top of this post are all I can remember
I’ve no idea where it comes from or where I heard it
Thats all I have going round and round in my head

But it does seems very apt when you think about the music industry doesn’t it?

‘Yesterday has been and gone
Now we sing a different song’

As a young person (teenager) what were your music likes and dislikes?
Have they changed much over the years?

