Tags

This past weekend I had some fingerless fun – rummaging round what I thought was a bag of odd balls of wool I found a pile of fingerless mitts that needed finishing.  I knew they were somewhere just couldn’t remember where lol
As I was having a bit of a blah day and had nothing else to do – I wish – it seemed obvious to me that Sunday’s relaxation was to be just that.

Black 8ply and using – Rhonda Jean’s pattern – the main one I’ve used since discovering it about four years ago – these are destined to be worn by a young girl waiting for the school bus at 8am on cold wintery days.  Wonder how long it will take her to lose this pair – losing things is her speciality lol

Mixed colours in Jet knitted sideways from a pattern I found on Ravelry – So easy to do and I rather like the garter stitch detail on the side after they have been sewn together,

 And these are the end result of a fun idea I had last week – basically working on the idea that these mittens are just a rectangle with a seam up the side leaving a hole for the thumb I tried using some of the ‘fluffy’ yarn left over from scarves.  Initially I thought they might be really bulky yet they feel ok (lovely and soft and warm rather like a mitt would feel) so I’ll do some more as pressies for overseas.

And what do we have here
Three little mittens (and their mates) all lined up in a row
– not a kitten to be seen –
‘A Trio of Fingerless Fun’

Three Little Kittens

Three little kittens
They lost their mittens, And they began to cry,
Oh, mother dear, We sadly fear, Our mittens we have lost.
What! Lost your mittens, You naughty kittens!
Then you shall have no pie.
Mee-ow, mee-ow, mee-ow, mee-ow.
You shall have no pie.

The three little kittens,
They found their mittens, And they began to cry,
Oh, mother dear, See here, see here, Our mittens we have found.
What! Found your mittens, You darling kittens!
Then you shall have some pie.
Mee-ow, mee-ow, mee-ow, mee-ow.
You shall have some pie.

 Possibly Eliza Lee Cabot Follen (1787-1860),

