Do you remember a song that began with:
‘The falling leaves drift by my window
The falling leaves of red and gold’
English lyrics by Johnny Mercer 1947
Now in case you didn’t know it
Today June 1st is the official  first day of Winter here in Australia
Nicely heralded first thing this morning with frost on the windscreen of the car
However, being Winter doesn’t stop the leaves from the deciduous trees
 falling all over the place 
They aren’t drifting by my window
They are floating down all over my garden!

click images to enlarge

Unfortunately those leaves,

the ones that come from next door’s Oak Tree,
which is right by our fence line
are not red and gold
but a brown colour lol
You know, it would be a pretty sight if it hadn’t rained so much
Each time I go out to rake them up I get a slipping and a sliding feeling
and come back inside annoyed 
They aren’t doing any harm there
Except when I want to hang washing on the line
Hopefully when there are some more dry sunny days forecast 
 I will be able to get out and clear them up
They are going to come in very handy for topping up the compost heap
There’s just one problem .
Each time I’m out there I keep looking up
and know I’m going to be out there again
And again and again
That tree hasn’t finished with us yet lol 
How on earth do people in the Northern Hemisphere cope
Imagine going through this avalanche each autumn
