Yes its that time of the year again
We changed our clocks last night – Autumn has arrived – well actually, officially it has been Autumn since March 1st here in Australia but once those clocks are changed (backwards in our case) as far as I’m concerned everything seems to go downhill – in my mind that time change really means that Winter won’t be far away lol
This past week or two the days  have been very changeable – some fine and sunny and quite warmish and then others really cool and leaving us wondering if it was time to turn the heating on:(
The cricket season is over, the winter sports season has begun and it will be a while before I can walk the beach in shorts and tshirts, like I did in Adelaide recently, wondering who had walked there before me.
I can never phathom out how bare feet can make a raised imprint in the sand
Does anyone know the answer?
And look at the size of this footprint lol
No, now I’ll be indoors wondering whats for dinner and how long is it going to take to cook.  Soup is good all year round but especially when its cool and you need something warm and nourishing. 
Yesterday we finished all the Pumpkin Soup I made back at the end of February so with half a butternut ready to be used I decided to try a different recipe this time.  And for fun I used one from another of the cook books that fell off the shelf lol
This time it was Deliciously Natural by Prue Sobers  – from the same era as Taste of Life that I used last month.  The cooking style and food ideas are similar – lots of good healthy recipes and ideas – why I gave up using it I don’t know, the recipes certainly haven’t gone out of fashion. 
A much simpler version and I didn’t go as far as adding the milk.  After I’d blended the soup I divided it and popped it in the freezer – managed to get four good helpings each which was great.  When I defrosted the chicken stock I remembered I’d tossed in a handful of McKenzie’s  soup mix as it was cooking so along with all the chicken meat I scrapped off the carcass the soup will be really filling.  I’ll add the milk and nutmeg when we actually come to eat it. 
Bye for now
I’m off to plan a trip to Queensland – we are ‘wintering’ there this year and I can’t wait.
Oh I know its a while off yet and Winter isn’t here yet but I have to iron all those shorts and tshirts I wore recently and get them ready to walk the beaches in Bowen – in July that is.
Winter up there is definitely warmer than winter down here in Melbourne!
