‘They’ warned us the other day that the weather was going to turn humid
For once ‘they’ got it right – Yuck
So when I knew I was going to be busy all day today I knew the last thing I would want to do at the end of a hot sticky day was prepare a meal and then have to cook it.  
  At the moment, with this watching what goes in the mouth thing, I’m all saladed out so I had to rack my brains as Dh would have been out on the golf course all day and would come home ‘starving’. 
Worse than a school kid for digging round in the cupboard when he comes home lol
Brainwave – I decided to put the crock pot to work – normally used in the winter however I couldn’t see any problem with it being on as it doesn’t give off that much heat.  Tucked away at the back of the cupboard was a packet mix I picked up a while ago seemingly for use with a crockpot and as I had all the ingredients it suggested I decided that was the way to go.
Along with this mix I used stewing beef, onion, garlic, carrots, celery, parsnip, turnip and a tin of tomatoes.  Couldn’t have been any easier.  Cook onion and garlic in frying pan, add meat and brown.  It suggested adding the veg to brown them but I was still chopping so missed that step.  There were red lentils in the packet so I soaked them for a while, put meat and veg in the crock, added the lentils, dissolved the packet mix in water and mixed that with the tomatoes – tossed them in and turned the crock on, gave it all a bit of stir and walked away.
Came home mid afternoon and the house smelled delicious
The herbs in the packet were thyme and savory so it was sort of what I call an Italian smell
The name of this wonder mix was M*Cormicks Slow Cooker Soup Hearty Beef and Vegetable recipe base 
I don’t normally buy these sort of things – and have no idea how or why this one came home from the shop with me
Anyway it turned out much better then I thought it would and I suppose you might think it strange to eat a hot wintery type meal on a hot day – my reasoning was, it wasn’t any different than going out for a meal , I wasn’t hot from cooking it and we both enjoyed it.
 
