Letter V of The Blogging from A-Z April Challenge
visit arlee and

Have you heard of Vinnies
It stands for anything to do with the St. Vincent De Paul’s Society
The St Vincent de Paul Society’s 40,000 members and volunteers work hard to assist people in need and combat social injustice across Australia. Internationally, the Society operates in 130 countries and has over 950,000 members.
For most members of the public Vinnies is where you go to look for bargains
They run fabulous op-shops rather poshly called Vinnies Centres
You’ll often find me at Vinnies – either donating or looking or even rummaging at times
and what I like about Vinnies unlike some of the other national charity shops
is that any money raised/profit at a local branch stays in that area
It doesn’t go into a national pot
Vinnies and other Opportunity shops or Op shops as we tend to call them 
– known in other countries as Thrift shops/ Charity shops even second hand shops –
have come into their own over the past few years
Its become trendy to dress from clothes bought here (think Vintage)
but I got to know them back in the 60s/70s
when as I’ve explained before we were a bit short of cash
They were and still are fabulous places to get a bargain 
For us it was mostly in the clothing line with books and sometimes toys
Even as close as a couple of years ago I picked up 4 almost new tennis raquets
for the grandkids to use here in the backgarden
There are lots of reasons people shop at Vinnies
It encourages recycling, others can use what you no longer need
Being frugal and thrifty by buying second hand things with lots of life still left in them
Theres also the chance you could find something that is collectable
If you can find sheets and linens and crockery they are usually a good buy
I’m a keen op shopper
I’m also frugal, never pay full price if I can help it
and one who tries to make my goods last as long as I can
I’ve been good at clearing out cupboards recently and the car is chockers with stuff to donate to our local Vinnies – might have a look round the store while I’m there ‘cose you just never know what you’ll find lol
